[Cooking] My version of Daniel Doherty’s Hangover Hash

I’ve been laid low with a nasty cold the last couple of days, my coughs almost registering on the Richter scale in North Cambridge today so I needed something hearty to pick me up. Only yesterday Daniel Doherty’s book, Duck & Waffle, arrived, named after the 24-hour-restaurant up on the Heron Tower in London where Daniel is executive chef. Flipping through it, I came to a recipe titled “Hangover Hash”. Now, what works for hangovers also works for colds, as you suffer a variety of similar symptoms so reading through it I realised not only was it just my thing, I also had all the important ingredients at home as the last thing I wanted to do was leave the house.
I made a few modifications in that I added garlic and ginger to the onion jam and didn’t bother making a peperonata but added fresh peppers instead and I substituted the Gruyere cheese with Cheddar and Gran Padano, as that’s what I had. Tasting it, I thought the chorizo I had used (the spicy variety from Renilla) added enough heat to the dish without the need of extra hot sauce. The sausage had rendered beautifully, infusing the other ingredients with its spicy oils. I was really happy with the textures and flavours, perfect in my state. I didn’t even need a lie-down afterwards. It came out looking like this, almost like in the book:

Dan Doherty's "Hangover Hash"

In the book photo, the dish has no cheese on it and the yolk is a beautiful orange, not with a thin film of egg white over it but that’s the difference between a professionally cooked and shot dish and one of mine.
Note for the future: I’m going to add the peppers at the same time as the eggs so they cook even less for more crunch.

The recipe was simple, just took a while, at least when you make the onion jam from scratch. I’m looking forward to trying more recipes from this fantastic looking book. If you have a tablet or similar device, the kindle version is quite cheap at the moment. This is my favourite format for cookbooks as I have no space for books in my tiny kitchen.

Leave a Reply

