Lamb sweetbreads, local asparagus

A new ingredient in my kitchen prompts a new cooking post. My butcher alerted me via twitter that he would have lamb sweetbreads in and while I’ve had them in restaurants I had never cooked with them myself I took this opportunity to try. A little research on the internet revealed that cooking them wasn’t tricky so I picked up three. I boiled them for a few minutes, trimmed them, cut them into bite sized pieces and then tossed them in seasoned flour. I fried the pieces in a little olive oil over medium heat until crispy.
I served the sweetbreads with some blanched local asparagus and drizzled the plate with a good extra virgin olive oil infused with garlic, pepper and balsamic vinegar.

Lamb sweetbreads, local asparagus

The perfect quick and simple spring lunch.

Leave a Reply

