A return to Roganic

I’ve been to Roganic, Simon Rogan’s London restaurant, twice, once during its opening week and a few months later. Their lease is running out in June so I wanted to make sure I had another meal in case the restaurant disappeared. However, I was assured they are looking for new premises for a permanent site.
The food is just as exquisite and perfectly cooked as before (they changed head chefs last year) and the new front of house team is just as welcoming, efficient and gregarious as the previous one. I obviously had to have the 10 course tasting menu:

Savoury bites
Pig skin and seaweed crisp

Bread and Butter
Bread and butter

Mushroom and Garlic
Mushroom and garlic

Swede, sea kale, veg broth
Swede, sea kale, veg broth

Millet, stilton, pear, celery
Millet, stilton, pear, celery

Raw veal, turnip
Raw veal, turnip. This was the standout dish for me, incredible flavours and textures.

Artichokes, malt powder
After that, the artichoke dish was a bit disappointing. Still very nice but lacked a certain oomph.

Oyster, hispi cabbage, silver onions, ale sauce
Oyster, hispi cabbage, silver onions, ale sauce. This poached oyster dish on the other hand, returned the meal to its previous heights.

Plaice, broccoli, cockles
Plaice, broccoli, cockles

Beef cheek, bone marrow, salsify
Beef cheek, bone marrow, salsify

Buffalo milk ice cream, sea buckthorn, mint
Buffalo milk ice cream, sea buckthorn, mint

Rhubarb, honeycomb ice cream, gingerbread, sorrel
Rhubarb, honeycomb ice cream, gingerbread, sorrel

Sweet bites
Sweet bites

2 thoughts on “A return to Roganic

  1. All the food is so beautiful. I wish I could make food look like that. The veal sounds amazing, I also really like the look of the mushroom and garlic dish.

    • I envy that as well. It’s one reason why I post so few of my own meals because quite often it’s brilliant but doesn’t look nice or just amateurish.

Leave a Reply

